Skip to content


Polar research is dependent on effective international cooperation. Therefore, Norway participates actively in a number of international committees affiliated with polar research.

The Research Council pays membership fees and nominates candidates to the International Arctic Science Committee (IASC) and the European Polar Board (EPB). The Scientific Committee on Antarctic Research (SCAR) is also a core body for Arctic research.   

International Arctic Science Committee (IASC)

The International Arctic Science Committee (IASC) facilitates cooperation between all countries engaged in Arctic research. The IASC is a non-governmental, international scientific organisation. The IASC mission is to encourage and facilitate cooperation in all aspects of Arctic research, in all countries engaged in Arctic research and in all areas of the Arctic region. The IASC promotes and supports cutting-edge multi-disciplinary research in order to foster a greater scientific understanding of the Arctic region and its role in the Earth system.

The IASC is an International Scientific Associate of the International Council for Science (ICSU) and an observer in the Arctic Council. The IASC collaborates with numerous international Arctic organisations. The Arctic Science Summit Week (ASSW) is an IASC initiative and is organised in cooperation with these international organisations. The purpose of the summit is to provide an arena for coordination and cooperation in all areas of Arctic science, and to combine science and management meetings to save on travel and time. A Science Symposium is organised as part of the ASSW every other year.

Norwegian IASC delegate:
Senior Advisor Susan Barr (Directorate for Cultural Heritage

Norwegian representatives in IASC Working Groups:

Scientific Committee on Antartctic Research (SCAR)

Illustrasjon: SCAR
SCAR is a committee under the ICSU and is charged with the initiation, promotion and coordination of scientific research in Antarctica. SCAR also provides international, independent scientific advice to the Antarctic Treaty system and other bodies.

The membership of SCAR comprises the appropriate bodies of those national scientific academies or the research councils that are the adhering bodies to the ICSU and that are, or plan to be, active in Antarctic research, together with the relevant ICSU Scientific Unions.

Norwegian representation is organised by the Norwegian Polar Institute.

European Polar Board (EPB)

The European Polar Board (EPB) is the European Science Foundation's (ESF) strategic advisory body on science policy in the Arctic and Antarctic. It is a platform for European involvement in international science programmes and provides strategic science policy advice to the European Commission and international bodies.

The EPB facilitates cooperation and coordination between directors and managers of nationally funded polar programmes with the aim of identifying and prioritising polar science strategy issues of common European interest and which add clear strategic value to the activities in national programmes.

Norwegian Delegate to the European Polar Board:
Research director Nalân Koç (Norwegian Polar Institute)

Last updated: