This site use cookies to provide the best possible experience for you. By closing this message you agree to our use of cookies. Our full privacy policy is available here.
Close disclaimer
Skip to content

The Research Council of Norway’s scheme for national graduate-level researcher schools (FORSKERSKOLER) provides funding to 22 national researcher schools across the country. The scheme is funded by the Ministry of Education and Research, which provides an annual allocation of NOK 40 million.

The Researcher Schools are part of the effort to create a better framework for researcher training. They have been established to help to promote recruitment, to enable more doctoral candidates to complete their degrees, to reduce time to degree completion, and to enhance the internationalisation of researcher training in Norway.

National, network-based activities
The FORSKERSKOLER scheme currently provides funding to 22 national graduate-level researcher schools. Each school consists of a network of institutions that have entered into binding cooperation on doctoral-level training in a specific field. The participating institutions collaborate on PhD courses, seminars, summer schools and the like, with reciprocal use of their respective laboratory facilities in fields where this is relevant. Researcher schools can thus provide broader-based researcher training than each individual institution could on its own.