Agreement on Enhancing International Arctic Scientific Cooperation

The legally binding agreement is designed to enhance cooperation in scientific activities in the Arctic between Canada, Denmark (including Greenland and the Faroe Islands), Finland, Iceland, Norway, Russia, Sweden, and the United States of America (hereafter referred to as the “parties”). The agreement does not preclude cooperation between the parties and non-parties (Annex 17).

The purpose of the agreement, which was signed in 2017, is to enhance cooperation in scientific activities in order to increase effectiveness and efficiency in the development of scientific knowledge about the Arctic. The agreement facilitates access, to terrestrial, coastal, atmospheric, and marine areas by scientists of the eight Arctic governments to Arctic areas covered by the agreement.

The agreement facilitates:

  1. Entry and exit of persons, equipment, and material
  2. Access to research infrastructure and facilities
  3. Access to research areas
  4. Access to data
  5. Education, career development and training opportunities
  6. Use of traditional and local knowledge


Messages at time of print 1 March 2024, 09:37 CET

No global messages displayed at time of print.