Skip to content

Division for Innovation

The Division for Innovation is responsible for mobilising and funding research within and for Norwegian trade and industry. The division performs analyses and develops strategies for trade and industry-related thematic areas as well as for the innovation system as a whole.

Executive Director: Anne Kjersti Fahlvik

Funding covers direct support to individual companies, research institutes, universities and university colleges, commercialisation of research findings, network building and the establishment of specialised centres.

The Division for Innovation administers the SkatteFUNN tax deduction scheme and open competitive arenas such as the Programme for User-driven Research-based Innovation (BIA), EUREKA's Eurostars Programme and the Industrial Ph.D. Scheme. Strategic and thematically-oriented research programmes such as the Food Programme (MATPROGRAMMET), the Innovation Programme for Maritime Activities and Offshore Operations (MAROFF) and the Programme on Intelligent Freight Transport (SMARTRANS) also are part of the division’s portfolio. In addition, the division is responsible for ICT, nanotechnology and biotechnology as technology areas and is in charge of three Large-scale Programmes: Core Competence and Value Creation in ICT (VERDIKT), Nanotechnology and New Materials (NANOMAT) and Functional Genomics in Norway (FUGE).

The division has responsibility for the Research Council’s Centres for Research-based Innovation (SFI) scheme, which is designed to give a boost to the most outstanding Norwegian research groups that work in close collaboration with partners from national and international industry. Centres that receive SFI status serve to showcase Norwegian industry-oriented research and play an important role in providing an industry-relevant basis for doctoral studies.

The division promotes knowledge-based industry throughout Norway. Important activities in this context are the Programme for Regional R&D and Innovation (VRI) and the Research Council’s regional representatives, who work out of Innovation Norway’s regional offices. The division coordinates Norway’s seven regional research funds and cooperates closely with the public innovation agencies Innovation Norway and SIVA (the Industrial Development Corporation of Norway).


Last updated: